The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection Mobile search icon Mobile close search icon

Search Results

Advanced Biography Search
Mobile navigation icon Close mobile navigation icon

Share on Social Media

Salute to The HistoryMakers (Chicago 2004)


On Saturday, March 13, 2004, sixty HistoryMakers, their guests and two hundred others attended the Chicago Salute to The HistoryMakers in the Red Lacquer Room of the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago, Illinois. The event, sponsored by the Hilton Hotels Corporation, featured music and entertainment from Everett Greene and the Robert Irving III Trio.

The Chicago Salute to The HistoryMakers marked the first of a series of events in Washington, D.C. and Los Angeles, California where HistoryMakers were honored and presented with The HistoryMakers award. Designer and sculptor Preston Jackson was on hand for the event. McDonald’s Corporation served as the awards sponsor.

HistoryMaker Harry Porterfield served as Master of Ceremonies and Gerhard E. Seibert, General Manager of the Palmer House Hilton and Vice President of Midwest Hilton Hotels, opened the evening up by welcoming all to the event. Seibert acknowledged Ken Price, Director of Public Relations from the Palmer House Hilton, for his role in introducing The HistoryMakers to the Hilton Hotels Corporation five years ago. The Reverend Willie Barrow blessed the dinner before leading a moment of silence for those HistoryMakers who had passed away. Numerous individuals spoke on ways in which they have supported The HistoryMakers through corporate and individual giving and donations, and stressed the importance of preserving African American history. Speakers included: Floyd Pitts, Senior Director of Diversity Programs for Hilton Hotels, Patricia Andrews-Keenan, Vice President of Communications for Comcast, Deborah Thomas, Senior Vice President of Northern Trust Bank, National Advisory Board Member Sharon Morrow and Vicky Free of McDonald’s Corporation.

Honored HistoryMakers

  • Carol Adams
  • Paul Adams
  • Regina Harris Baiocchi
  • C. Vincent Bakeman
  • Irma Josephine Barber
  • Chuck Barksdale
  • Eta Moten Barnett
  • T. L. Barrett
  • Willie Barrow
  • Sherman Beverly
  • Timuel Black
  • Robert D. Blackwell
  • William Bonaparte, Jr.
  • Nelvia Brady
  • Carol Moseley Braun
  • Dorothy Brown
  • Oscar Brown, Jr.
  • Lonnie Bunch
  • Roland Burris
  • Margaret Burroughs
  • Iva Carruthers
  • Jacob Carruthers
  • David Coar
  • Mercer Cook
  • Ron Daly
  • Elnora Daniel
  • Carl Davis
  • Dave Duerson
  • Kahil El'Zabar
  • Clay Evans
  • Samuel Floyd
  • Rita Fry
  • Bettiann Gardner
  • Edward Gardner
  • Junius Gaten
  • Reynaldo Glover
  • Sophia Hall
  • Gloria Hemphill
  • James Hill
  • Mellody Hobson
  • Charles Johnson
  • Glenn Johnson
  • Janis Kearney
  • Herb Kent
  • Jerline Lambert
  • Anna Langford
  • John Lassiter
  • Dorothy Leavell
  • Raphael Lee
  • Ramsey Lewis
  • James Lowry
  • Antoinette Malveaux
  • Blanche Manning
  • B. Herbert Martin
  • Clyde Martin
  • Fred Matthews
  • Gwendolyn Mitchell
  • Calvin Morris
  • Curtis Morrow
  • Bob Nash
  • Leslie Outerbridge
  • Edward "Buzz" Palmer
  • Audrey Peeples
  • Sterling Plumpp
  • Kwame John Porter
  • Madeline Murphy Rabb
  • Gwendolyn Rogers
  • Harold Rogers
  • John Rogers, Sr.
  • Bobby Rush
  • Fannie Rushing
  • Darius Savage
  • Eugene Scott
  • Robert Sengstacke
  • Wesley South
  • Richard Stephenson
  • Earl Strayhorn
  • Welton Ivan Taylor
  • Marshall Thompson
  • Dorothy Tillman
  • Jim Tilmon
  • La Donna Tittle
  • Thomas Todd
  • Richard Tolliver
  • Dempsey Travis
  • Wayne Watson
  • Eric Werner
  • James Wheeler
  • Standish Willis
  • Robert E. Wooten, Sr.
  • Jeremiah Wright
  • Don Wycliff

Title Sponsor

Hilton Hotels Corporation


Aly's Posey PatchChicago TribuneMcDonald's Corporation

Honorary Co-Chairs

  • Ron L. Lofton
  • Gerhard E. Seiber

Date and Time

Friday, March 12, 2004


Palmer House Hilton
17 East Monroe Street
Chicago, IL 60603
United States